Until recently, the village sign gave a flavour of Flordon. The sign
was commissioned by the Flordon Community Group using local talent. It was based on a design by Chris
Ball, constructed by Mr. E Budgen, painted by his daughter, Mrs. Sally Mayfield, and the base was built by Mr. Peter Cook. The left hand panel featured Flordon church.
On the right hand panel the train standing in Flordon station
is No. 70010 OWEN GLENDOWER. Down the centre are symbols of Flordon Common
and local farm produce.
The sign was erected on the green by the stream on 28th November 2001 and dedicated by the Rev. Jess Stubenbord on 9th December. Unfortunately, it can no longer be seen as it blew over in a gale.
Explore this site for information on everything featured on the sign - and more. Across the top and under MORE are the page headings, and a small arrow indicates additional pages on a topic. Any word in bold and underlined will take you to a page with more information. Hover over photos to see the caption. And where there is a photo gallery of several photos, click or tap the photo to get an enlargement with caption and an arrow to the next in the series.
FLORDON CHURCH & Community Centre
Tucked away in the heart of the village is Flordon's oldest building now modernised for a worshipping church and a thriving Community Centre. Find out more about the church - its ancient past, how the building was enlarged and reduced in size and lost its tower. Also, learn about the Rectors who were appointed here and the Rectory where they lived.
FLORDON HALL nestles in a valley and at first sight looks like a modest Elizabethan
brick house. But closer inspection, and a peep inside, shows that the core is a
much older timber-framed medieval hall. Owned by the Kemp family until 1948, it is now a house for the families who run a thriving farm.
and more HOUSES, too....
FIND OUT MORE....
And take a walk through the village to see the sights and explore their history.
CAN YOU HELP? With information, memories, photos, etc.... if so, then click below and let us know!
all who have contributed so far to this history of Flordon with memories,
research, maps, photos and suggested links: to Janet & Pat Negal, Janice
Hale, Jean & Peter Cook, Pam Harvey, Margaret Bullen, Joy nee Herrell, Rex, June and
Tim Webster, Alan Moore, Jane & Michael Allison, Adele Mallen, Michael Duffield, Jean Leithall, Michael Wilkinson (for various old postcards), Russell Howes (article on Mushroom Farm + other items), Connie Doy, Donald Calton (whose memories were recorded by Janet Negal shortly before he died). David & Lolita Harrison (for the history of the Rectory). Sandy Chase (for scans of old documents). Steve Elden (air views). Maurice Lince & Pat Floyd + article authors & photo site quoted for WW2 Crash, & Simon Dunham for further information and photos of air crashes.
Judith Fayter (information on Stebbings family); Ben Goodfellow (for updated information on Raynthorpe Hall & its owners and on local charities); Daphne Foy (for memories of Birds Farm); RS (for documents related to 1869 land sale & 1912 floods); GER Society for articles from GER Magazines, 1912, on flood damage. Ann Barnes, Geoff Hallidie & Anne Hallidie (Orchard Farm); Anne nee Cooper, Robert Taylor; and others for memories and photos. Thanks to George Chilvers for sending details of the cases involving his great-uncle, a Flordon stationmaster.
And special thanks to Nigel Peacock for postcards and web advice.